Have you heard the one about the liberal and the elephant?

Citizens registered as an Independent, Democra...

Image via Wikipedia

 

Yes, Republicans, I’ll bet a liberal can make you smile.

It’s been one heck of a week.  Conservative Republicans are parading around talking about Armageddon. Liberal Democrats have countered by pummeling  the right for condoning  racist rhetoric, smashed windows and death threats from their fringes (yes, I’ve been one of the pummelers).

So how about a moment of levity? A smile instead of a smolder?  It’s good for everyone’s blood pressure.  Take the test. With this Washington Post column, Gene Weingarten just might  draw a smile from both sides of the fractured aisle.

About jerrylanson

I teach, write, coach and sing, though you're not required to listen to the latter. I'm a journalism professor at Emerson College in Boston. My third book, "Writing for Others, Writing for Ourselves," was published in November by Rowman & Littlefield Publishing. You can read a sample chapter at www.jerrylanson.com. My passions are politics (generally liberal in outlook), music, mountains, golden retrievers and my grandchildren, though not in that order. Please stop by and mix it up with me. I always answer those who post.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

