Why vacations matter

A fountain in the old town of Aix-en-Provence,...

Image via Wikipedia

AIX-EN-PROVENCE, France — Hotel Cardinal sits three blocks south tree-lined Cours Mirabeau in the heart of this city.  Yet it couldn’t be quieter at night.

The ceilings of our room must be 12-feet high. It has three original paintings on the wall in gilded frames, all mounted askew on the lavender walls. A chandelier, also gilded, hangs from the ceiling. From our bed we watch the birds, swallows I believe, swoop among the buildings.  Kathy has used the 3-foot porcelain sculpture of an orange rooster as a hat rack.

This is why vacations matter. The 10-inch TV set doesn’t seem to work, and I don’t care. The hotel does not have the advertised WiFi (wefee in French), and I don’t care.  We walk everywhere, eat what we please and move at our own pace (slowly).  Yesterday I read 100 pages for pleasure; it’s been awhile.  The sky is cloudless, the air soft, moved by a quiet fan, our last-century form of air conditioning. Today I am contemplating a pastry filled with whip cream.

It is, as the French say, la vie. Staying in a place of faded grandeur (for $100 a night) adds a special charm. I recommend it.

About jerrylanson

I teach, write, coach and sing, though you're not required to listen to the latter. I'm a journalism professor at Emerson College in Boston. My third book, "Writing for Others, Writing for Ourselves," was published in November by Rowman & Littlefield Publishing. You can read a sample chapter at www.jerrylanson.com. My passions are politics (generally liberal in outlook), music, mountains, golden retrievers and my grandchildren, though not in that order. Please stop by and mix it up with me. I always answer those who post.
This entry was posted in travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why vacations matter

  1. Caitlin Kelly says:

    I still remember with great fondness a rural hotel room on a riverbank…same period, faded grandeur…France is it! I’m glad you’re there and recharging…but, oui, j’ai envie d’y aller tout de suite!

    • Jerry Lanson says:

      We were reminded of another French specalty in Vaison=la=Romaine — showers without curtains, often with floors that slant toward the bedroom assuring damp everything!

  2. kingsleyzissou says:

    Completely agreed. Why does the majority of America not get this?

Leave a Reply

