Will the next storm obliterate my street sign?

LEXINGTON, Mass. — My house sits on a street named Tower Road.  But the only tower in sight these days is a mound of snow piled so high against the street sign stanchion  that it’s within a foot of obscuring the sign itself.

With another 6 to 10 inches expected tomorrow night, I’m taking odds on whether the plows will simply obliterate any trace of where I live. It’s that kind of winter.

If the snow in February keeps up like it has in January, it may be time for drastic action. I’m weighing these options:

1. Dig a cave under the snow and, with a glazing of water-turned-to-ice, harden it into an igloo. We did this a few times when I was a kid on Long Island. (The advantage: Great for the imagination. The disadvantage: Gets cold and dark pretty quickly).

2. Refuse to leave the house. This could be fun for awhile. But then I’d get sick of peanut butter and, even with tenure, I think I might get fired.

3. Visit Washington, D.C., sit beside a member of that other political party at a presidential speech, stand up, sit down, clap and make believe you like the guy sitting next to you. (On second thought, that igloo is looking better.)

4. Go someplace warm.  New Zealand comes to mind. I hear it’s nice there this time of year.

About jerrylanson

I teach, write, coach and sing, though you're not required to listen to the latter. I'm a journalism professor at Emerson College in Boston. My third book, "Writing for Others, Writing for Ourselves," was published in November by Rowman & Littlefield Publishing. You can read a sample chapter at www.jerrylanson.com. My passions are politics (generally liberal in outlook), music, mountains, golden retrievers and my grandchildren, though not in that order. Please stop by and mix it up with me. I always answer those who post.
This entry was posted in humor, Politics, weather and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Will the next storm obliterate my street sign?

  1. Hi there–found your blog through a rather random search using humor as a keyword, and wanted to let you know that I can empathize with your ‘snow’ woes. I’m in eastern Canada, and we seem to get your weather a couple of days after you have it. The last few days have been VERY cold, and I am so tired of it. I do think we should ask our governments to outlaw minus temperatures and any more snow than a few inches each winter.

    Anyway, just wanted to say hi…I’ll come back to see if you can still see your street sign! Cheers~

    • jerrylanson says:

      Hi Sylvia,
      Thanks for stopping by. I think you’ve come up with an excellent idea, and one politicians might agree on regardless of where they stand on the political spectrum. I could steal my street sign and give the first of what I’d hope would be an annual “tower of power” award for innovation. But first I’ll have to figure out how to get to it. (And secondly, of course, how to avoid the authorities.)

Leave a Reply

