Kids can say the funniest things

Our daughter Meghan and her daughter Devon stopped at Dunkin’ Donuts this morning.  As they left, an ambulance pulled into the parking lot.

“Look mommy, a hospital truck,” said Devon, who is 4.

“That’s called an ambulance,” Meghan told her.

The driver apparently overhead and invited Devon to look inside.

“I don’t want to disappoint you,” she told him. “But I’ve already been in one. I got my leg stuck in a chair and the ambulance came to drive me to the hospital.”

Her story, by the way, is true.  (Chair got sawed off said leg, stuck in its spokes when Devon was 2.)  We hope the ambulance driver wasn’t too disappointed.

About jerrylanson

I teach, write, coach and sing, though you're not required to listen to the latter. I'm a journalism professor at Emerson College in Boston. My third book, "Writing for Others, Writing for Ourselves," was published in November by Rowman & Littlefield Publishing. You can read a sample chapter at www.jerrylanson.com. My passions are politics (generally liberal in outlook), music, mountains, golden retrievers and my grandchildren, though not in that order. Please stop by and mix it up with me. I always answer those who post.
This entry was posted in family, grandchildren, lifestyle and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

