Devon and me: After a tough day fighting bad guys, we’ll do lunch

Kids sure grow up fast.

In the 12 days since I last saw her, for example, Devon has gotten a haircut and chosen a new career path. Gone is my superhero veterinarian, replaced by a pink power ranger. Our first task: To find the red tug boat I lost off the back of the Staten Island ferry 58 years ago.  I told Devon the story as we drove back from her apartment to our house.

She didn’t hesitate: “Let’s go find it,” she said.

Devon’s convinced we can do this as long as I am deputized as a red power ranger, and we work together.

“Boys are red power rangers, Ada, “she explained.  (Ada is the name she chose for me instead of grandpa when she could first talk.)

I’m not sure I’m up to this task, but Devon assures me that all red power rangers have to do is fight an occasional bad guy and find red tug boats. So it shouldn’t be too tough, what with time and a half on holidays like today and lunch breaks.

And, she says, we can hire as many deputies as we like.

I’d tell you more but I promised Devon I’d check out the painting she’s been doing — on her legs. Devon enters kindergarten next September. I think she’ll be keeping her teachers busy.

About jerrylanson

I teach, write, coach and sing, though you're not required to listen to the latter. I'm a journalism professor at Emerson College in Boston. My third book, "Writing for Others, Writing for Ourselves," was published in November by Rowman & Littlefield Publishing. You can read a sample chapter at www.jerrylanson.com. My passions are politics (generally liberal in outlook), music, mountains, golden retrievers and my grandchildren, though not in that order. Please stop by and mix it up with me. I always answer those who post.
This entry was posted in family, grandchildren, lifestyle and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

